Different Strokes

Do you have or utilize different writing/creative processes for the different genres in which you write?

When I write poetry, for instance, I have to start and finish the first draft in longhand. Once I start refining a poem, I can do it on the computer – though it always seems better when I stick to pen and paper – but it always has to start with the physical process of the pen channeling my images and thoughts onto paper. And I need silence. Lots and lots of silence, and no distractions.

When I write fiction, I usually start that same way, but then I can easily go to the computer or go back and forth between the two as I craft the final product. Again I need silence for this, but there can be the (very) occasional and short-lived distraction.

Creative non-fiction is easier for me to compose on the computer, for some reason. And I can work on something with other things going on around me.

I’ve always been intrigued at these differences. So here’s the question: How do you work best in your various genres and why?

2 thoughts on “Different Strokes

  1. Interesting question. When I write fiction, I tend to me very organized and detail-oriented in terms of outlining the plot, while my academic non-fiction writing tends to be planned a bit more loosely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The creative process is so fascinating! I’m the exact opposite — my fiction is loosely planned so my characters can guide me, whereas my academic writing was (had to be) outlined to the nth degree. Thanks for your perspective and experience, D. I. I love that writers are so similar in some ways and so different in others!

      Like

Leave a Reply

