The Prompter Room

For Wednesday, October 14, 2015:

“Step off assuredly into the blank of your mind.  Something will come to you.”

Richard Wilbur, American poet 

This is where I am today.  My mind is blank.  I have reached the last chapter, or possibly last two chapters, of my new novel-in-progress and can’t get anywhere.  I think I know where I want to go with it/them, but the words just won’t come.

Likely all writers are familiar with this.  Instead of seeing this stage of the process as ‘writer’s block,’ though, I’ve learned over the years to be patient. The words will come, and they’ll be better than any I try to force.

In the meantime, I hold the characters in my mind, close enough to hear when they speak again, as I go about other things.  Sometimes the more physical it is, the better — walking, cleaning, weeding.  My mind needs to get empty, not blank. So another thing I will do is utilize my own exercise and write, pen to paper, with my non-dominant hand.  That always helps me ‘step off assuredly,’ and it always seems to stir things up again.  (For more on that, see my blog post entitled ‘Handy Work.’)

Leave a Reply

