The Prompter Room

For Wednesday, November 4, 2015:

“Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality.”

Lewis Carroll

Yesterday, as I sat in a hospital waiting room, I pulled out my little notebook and wrote with my non-dominant hand.  A few days earlier a friend and sister writer/poet posted a challenge similar to NaNoWriMo: write a play a day for the 30 days of November. She’s done a wonderful job with hers and she encouraged me to try.

I know I can’t begin to craft anything as imaginative as her playlets have been so far, but I enjoyed looking at the waiting room, the people there, the activities with this exercise in mind.  I didn’t get a chance to finish, but I’m going to save the pages I wrote and I’m still thinking about the possibilities there.

What a clever idea!  As my friend did for me, I encourage you to try something similar.  Her challenge helped me get through the long day.  Thank you, Mary — your example really stirred up my imagination, and it’s come at just the right time!

Leave a Reply

