The Prompter Room

For Sunday, November 15, 2015:

“Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations.”

Unattributed meme on Facebook

Some of my own experiences prove this comment can be flipped, too: difficult destinations are eased by beautiful roads.

Some of the most memorable sights I’ve ever seen have come when I’ve had to travel to places that I expected or knew to be stressful or emotionally painful.  An early morning winter sunrise that was breathtakingly magic, a summer night filled with mile after mile of emerging lightning bugs that mirrored the star-filled sky, the most spectacular and long-lasting sunset I have ever seen over  mid-country farms and riparian fields in mid-autumn  … These and other memories helped me through what waited at the end of my travels, and I know they will end up in my writing.

It occurs to me that this will make a good exercise.  Try writing something from the POV (point of view) of the above meme quotation.  It can be a poem, fiction, creative non-fiction, essay … whatever you’d like.  Then flip it, like I’ve done.  You can use the same piece you’ve already done, or write a new piece from that second POV.  I know I want to try this with a couple of fictional characters who are in-process.

I think the results could be quite interesting.

Leave a Reply

