The Prompter Room

For Tuesday, December 1, 2015:

 

“It [was] startling and disappointing to me to find out that story books [were] written by people, that books were not natural wonders, coming up of themselves like grass.”

Eudora Welty

My twin great-niece and great-nephew are almost two-and-a-half years old.  With Christmas coming up, I see far too many TV commercials and print advertisements that are for ‘things’ and ‘stuff’ aimed at children their age and a little older.  This makes me wonder, not for the first time, why children’s books are not advertised like all the toys and electronic devices.

I admit I’m old fashioned, but my gifts to the kids are going to be books.  While I know there are some toys and devices that can promote wonder and thought, nothing matches – in my humble opinion – the magic and the worlds of discovery and possibilities found in books.

I vaguely remember my own realization, over half a century ago, that books did not just ‘appear,’ that books were not just for me.  I was startled but I was excited, not disappointed.  That was my first realization that maybe, just maybe, I could make a book ‘happen’ too.

Though the kids at this age may see books as more things, as mere things, at some point they will reach a point where they can tell the difference.  If I have anything to say about it, they will grow to understand that books are, at the very least, the signposts on the road to natural wonders and discovery, not manufactured ones.

Leave a Reply

