The Prompter Room

For Monday, December 7, 2015:

 

“Creativity is the animal kingdom’s answer to photosynthesis.  We take what is around us and make something new, something nurturing.”

Rita Mae Brown

A post from Consumer Reports showed up on my Facebook feed this morning that advertised an adult coloring book of fractals and other mathematical patterns.  This immediately made me think of a book that I discovered when I was finishing my BA degree as an adult learner.  The book, published in 1995, is A Beginner’s Guide to Constructing the Universe: Mathematical Archetypes of Nature, Art, and Science by Michael S. Schneider.

As I noted when I shared the CR post, if they had taught math this way when I was young, I might have gotten passing grades.  It’s interesting that the only terms I ever passed were those that had to do with sets, patterns, and Venn diagrams.

If you’re like I am – and many writers are – and aren’t good at math, then I suggest you check out Schneider’s book.  You’ll discover, as I did, that you’re actually better at math – at least the concepts inherent therein – than you might think.  This book nurtured the whole of my creativity in a way few books have.  (His writing is not at all dry, stiff or formal, for one thing, or, for that matter, mathematical.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.)  It certainly made things new for me.

I don’t know about you, but I can certainly use a little photosynthesis right about now as the days grow shorter, so I plan to buy that coloring book – and pencils to go with it – as soon as I can.  If it’s at all like Schneider’s book, I hope it will help a little creative light shine on and in my writing.

PS: If you buy the coloring book, or something similar, try doing some of the coloring or painting with your non-dominant hand.  I’m going to.  That will stimulate both sides of the brain at the same time, and that’s bound to have a positive effect on your creativity!  (See my blog post ‘Handy Works’ for more on this exercise.)

Leave a Reply

