The Prompter Room

For Wednesday, December 9, 2015:

 

“Happiness is … sitting quietly and writing in a notebook.”

via The Writer’s Circle

What I would give to be able to sit quietly and write again in an actual notebook!  It’s been so long, I actually remember when it was: the summer of 2010, when I was drafting a possible novel by hand.  Somehow or other, the universe cooperated and I managed to get in a good week or so, and it was pure bliss.  Not the writing itself necessarily (though some wasn’t bad), but the time and the process.

I wish I could shut out all noises and distractions, like some people seem to be able to do.  Over the years, I’ve gotten much better at writing some things, like this post, while the TV is on at a reasonable volume – and a good thing, too, since the television is on here almost all the time.  But people in conversation with others or themselves, dogs barking, loud volumes of anything, lots of activity, goings in and out … I just get too frazzled to quiet my mind enough to write.

If you have any opportunity to sit quietly, please take advantage of it!  Even if you don’t write a thing.  If you can both sit and write, think of me and send me your good vibes.  Maybe a few good words will come my way.

Leave a Reply

