The Prompter Room

For Thursday, December 10, 2015:

 

“I want to write poems that are natural, luminous, deep, spare.  I dream of an art so transparent that you can look through and see the world.”

Stanley Kunitz

I read a poem just like that this morning.  The poet used her words to ask questions I didn’t know I needed to ask, to, had been asking without knowing it.  Her few words sliced through the jumble of words in my head to clarify and enlighten my world a little bit better.

As I said in my response to her, such is the profundity of poetry, and such are the connections.  Good poets find a way through their own hearts so that others’ hearts may benefit.  Their words illuminate our lives like tiny phosphorescent phytoplankton that catch the gleam of moonlight as they ride atop tropical seas.  There is a beauty that is fleeting and necessary, nourishing and ephemeral at the same time, as new as each wave, as ancient as the pull of the tides.

Thank you, Mary.

One thought on “The Prompter Room

Leave a Reply

