The Prompter Room

For Friday, December 18, 2015:

 

“When writers die they become books, which is, after all, not too bad an incarnation.”

Jorge Luis Borges

There’s something about this idea that really appeals to me.  It makes me wonder which book I will become – one of mine or someone else’s? – and will I be with others in a library, and who will I be next to in the stacks?

Maybe I’ve intuited this all along and that’s why I love libraries and bookstores so much.  I will always remember the thrill of being in the presence of centuries of greatness when I had the opportunity to set foot in the library of Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland.  When I found the section of and gazed upon the collection of scrolls and surely I could even smell the thoughts and questions, the poetry and plays that still lived in those earliest of books.  Talk about a little piece of heaven on earth!

Natalie Goldberg has said that “Writers live twice.”  That’s a pretty impressive legacy.

2 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

Leave a Reply

