The Prompter Room

For Saturday, December 19, 2015:

 

“To practice any art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow.  So do it.”

Kurt Vonnegut

I know this to be true myself.  You may have read elsewhere here that I am not an artist (as in painter or one who draws), but putting a brush to canvas feeds my soul in a way that writing doesn’t.  Maybe because I’m exercising a different creative part of the brain, one that opens up potential new ways of seeing, doing, and being.  It’s almost as if a breath of fresh air breezes through for a few minutes and I feel freer.

I’m usually confident enough in my words that I’m willing to disseminate them to the masses, if I think others might be interested.  Few if any people, though, ever see my attempts to put anything other than words on paper.  But that doesn’t matter.  What matters is that I do it … at least once in a while.

Maya Angelou has written, “Do the best you can until you know better.  Then, when you know better, do better.”  Go, therefore, and do it!

Leave a Reply

