The Prompter Room

For Tuesday, December 22, 2015:

 

“I am a writer.  This means I live in a crazy fantasy world with unrealistic expectations.  Thank you for understanding.”

Writers United meme on Facebook

Someone could make a lot of money by making little plaques of this saying for writers to put up by their front doors as a lighthearted warning for visitors!   At the very least I need someone to make one for me because when I’m in the zone, there’s no telling where my head will be if someone comes to the door.

I may not be working on a fantasy piece per se, but I may not be able to make the transition from my fictional characters and places to the real-life person(s) in front of me at the time.  This happens, too, even if no one comes to visit.  Sometimes I have difficulty going from the page to, say, the kitchen and have to take a few minutes to clear my head.  I don’t always hear if someone speaks to me.  I temporarily forget my routine of how to make a cup of tea or coffee.  I wander around and stare out the windows as if I don’t know where I am.

Even when I’m not working, I can go into that fictional place in a heartbeat if something occurs to me that belongs in that other place.  I’m never far from pen and paper for that reason, and woe betide the person or dog who’s in the way.

When I’m at critical junctures in a story, before I go to sleep at night, I ask my characters to come and show me where to go next or tell me what they need to say.  Sometimes they’ll come to me in dreams, and when they do, I can make good progress.  Other times they reveal themselves and the storyline one slow piece of dialogue at a time.  Either way, I feel like I’m in a dreamworld most of the time, even as — sometimes especially when — I’m doing mundane things like housework or grocery shopping.

So if someone out there is clever enough to make such a plaque, put me down for your first order, please.  I think I really need one!

Leave a Reply

