The Prompter Room

For Monday, December 28, 2015:

 

“In order to be open to creativity, one must have the capacity for constructive use of solitude.  One must overcome the fear of being alone.”

Rollo May

“I hold this to be the highest task of a bond between two people: that each should stand guard over the solitude of each other.”

Rainer Maria Rilke

“The writer’s curse is that even in solitude, no matter its duration, he never grows lonely or bored.”

Criss Jami, ‘Killosophy’

Can you tell I am in need of some solitude?  Or at least some quiet.  Virginia Woolf’s ‘room of one’s own’ would be so nice right now, one far away from the rest of the house, where I can close the door and shut out the noise of the TV and the phone, even if I still hear the dogs barking.

I treasure my alone time, so much so that some of my happiest moments are when I can be in hermit mode for as long as I need to be.  Especially in nature.  Even better is when I can be with my best friend, who’s also a writer and who also tends to the eremitic, out in the quiet of the woods, just walking and listening to the music of the natural world.

I don’t always write when those treasured moments are given to me, but I can fill myself back up again with what I need to write later.  Sometimes I’ll read, sometimes I’ll just stare into space with nothing going on in my brain.  There’s a Cherokee saying that tells us the most creative thing we can do is to sit all day and watch the river flow.  Yep, that’s me.

None of that will happen today, but I need to find a moment or two where I can escape all the stimuli that are coming at me, where my body can breathe and my brain can rest.   I wish for you, though, the time you need or want for solitude, and that you’ll enjoy your time down at the river.

Leave a Reply

