The Prompter Room

For Tuesday, December 29, 2015:

 

“I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am.”

Jane Austen – letter to Cassandra Austen, October 26, 1813

After yesterday’s post, when I said I probably wouldn’t get any writing done, I ended up writing about 700 words in a new work-in-progress.  It may not sound like much, but it’s a lot more than I expected so I was pleased.  Every little bit helps, and the result was a complete vignette to start the first draft of the new novel.

Truth be told, I had to write a lot more than 700 words to get to that final count.  Given how frazzled and distracted I was from all of yesterday’s noise and activity, it took me a while to get into a mindset settled enough to even think about a single word, let alone putting together enough to make a sentence.

Eventually – after a false start or two, after rearranging parts of paragraphs, writing and then deleting some pieces, finding new and better words in other places, which then led to more and more – I found the rhythm I needed and went on from there.

As I’ve said elsewhere in The Prompter Room, one of the reasons I compose these daily prompts, in addition to helping other writers with creative ideas, is to help me with my own discipline.  The commitment to show up here every day exercises my writing muscles.

It certainly worked yesterday, and I ended up in a much better humor.

Leave a Reply

