The Prompter Room

For Friday, January 1, 2016:

 

“Be willing to be a beginner every single morning.”

Meister Eckhart

What better way to start a new year, eh?  And as I prepare myself to head into revision mode for the second draft of the novel-in-progress, I have to remind myself that in some ways I will need to start from scratch.

Based on the helpful feedback from my beta readers, I already know I have to develop at least two characters more fully, one of whom needs some redirection so his storyline makes more sense for the resolution at the end.  Another character should probably come off of the sidelines and be more prominent, especially if he’s to continue into the second book of the series.  Some of the descriptive narrative must change as well.  Since I know I tend to be verbose … in case you haven’t noticed … I have to try to reduce the wordiness in a way that still develops context more fully.

Thinking about it makes the work seem rather daunting after I’ve done the hard work of the first draft, but really all I’ve done so far is build the skeleton of the story.  The bones are in good shape, I think, which is a positive start.  The next step, though, is to put some flesh on those bones, and the step after that is to dress them up.

Once I get into the process again, I always remember how much fun the next steps are.  It truly does feel like beginning anew and fresh every day.

Leave a Reply

