The Prompter Room

For Friday, January 15, 2016:

 

“The cost of not following your heart is spending the rest of your life wishing you had.”

Anonymous

If you’ve been reading here for a while, you’ll know that one of my childhood dreams was to write books.   It took me until I was in my mid-to-late 40s, but when I held my first novel in my hands, I knew I was finally on my way to achieving that dream.

Two things made that possible.  The first was a life-threatening illness and surgery.  When I survived that surgery, I was determined to fulfill my dream, whatever it took (within reason).  The other thing was that I reached a certain age, and when a lot of women reach that age, they decide not to worry about what others might think.  They’re going to be themselves, without apology.

Late yesterday afternoon I put up a new page here on this site.  If you go up to the top of the page on the screen, you’ll see ‘My Bookshelf.’  This includes a list of my books, blurbs, and links.  My books!  Plural!  And another novel and a poetry collection or two are almost ready to add to the list.

I’m not the best marketer in the world for my own writing (I’m better for others’ work), so I struggled – a little – with whether to put up this new page.  As I get older, though, I remember that childhood dream more and more vividly, I’m more and more determined to make it happen, and I’ve decided I’m not going to be shy about it or apologize.

So there you have it: ‘My Bookshelf’ is now ready for you to check it out.

While you’re at it, make your own list.  What books – or their equivalent – have you written?  I think you might surprise yourself.  Even if those manuscripts are still in a drawer, they count.  (My poetry collections that are coming, as noted above, have only recently migrated from that file drawer to the computer screen.)

Join me, then, and get your own books out!  Don’t be shy.  The world is waiting for your dream to come true.

Leave a Reply

