The Prompter Room

For Sunday, February 14, 2016:

 

“I’ve always associated the moment of writing with a moment of lift, of joy, of unexpected reward.”

Seamus Heaney

Maybe it’s because Heaney is a poet, but for some reason this quote evoked an ‘a ha’ moment for me when I found it this morning.  I’ve long held that writing is about relationship, but whenever I write about it or explain it, I’ve said that relationship is between the writer and the reader.  Somehow or other Heaney’s words showed me that’s not the only connection.  There’s an even deeper connection: between the writer and her words, and between the words and the self.  Duh!

For some reason, the word ‘righteousness’ popped into my head as I read this quote.  In theological terms, ‘righteousness’ is ‘right relationship with God.’  Taking that intuitive flash a little deeper, then, does that mean that my process of writing is righteous, a right relationship with myself?  If so, I like that!  It feels … right.

This is so fresh, I’m still working it out as I write, so I’m afraid it’s going to be stream-of-consciousness …

I’m trying to go from the image and concept of a triangular relationship to one that’s more like a labyrinth, where we go from the hard angles and straight, stiff lines to a soft center.  I hope I don’t mangle the metaphor here, but one must jump on or off the triangle to get on or leave, whereas one eases one’s way in and out of a labyrinth.  There’s a place to rest in the center.  We can’t get lost – it’s not a maze.  A labyrinth is a circle of always-visible pathways, not a rigid form with walls that keep us blind.

I think I’ll have to leave this here for a while – there’s way too much external distraction just now for deeper reflection – and let this new insight move around a little and find room to grow …

Leave a Reply

