The Prompter Room

For Monday, March 7, 2016:

 

“What moves me most in literature is the writer who says, ‘Here I stood!  I loved the world enough to write it all down.'”

Sara Ruhl, author and playwright

An iPad commercial puts it this way: ” … The powerful play goes on – and you, you may contribute a verse” (quote is, I think, from Walt Whitman).

I love this.  To think that I may actually participate in the play somehow is exciting, and if I can do so with my writing, that’s thrilling and even better.

Whatever the play is – comic, tragic, or anything in between – our words make a difference.  Whether we agree or disagree, our words make a difference.  The world needs them.

The world needs you, needs us, to love it enough to write it all down.

7 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

    1. Thank you! What fun! You helped prompt today’s prompt :-).

      Yes, I do book editing. You can find some preliminary into on my ‘About’ page, but if you’re interested in more specifics you can reach me at magiclampedits@gmail.com.

      Thanks again! I enjoy your blog, too – it always makes me think, and that’s a very good thing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I prompted todays prompt. Wonderful! Guys what? Lol. That needs editing and not from autocorrect either, which I’m pretty positive was responsible for this goof. *Guess what?
        Anyway, yes I just finished a manuscript. I’ll get a hold of you by email.
        Thank you very much for the encouraging words as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. “Loved the world enough to write it down.” Now why didn’t I come up with that brilliant one-liner, myself? This is exactly The reason that I write. I consider myself a cosmic note-taker, a faithful scribe scribbling down perceptions of earth’s ineluctable beauty. Great post, Genie. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

