The Prompter Room

For Wednesday, March 9, 2016:

 

“I believe in everything until it’s disproved.  So I believe in fairies, the myths, dragons.  It all exists, even if it’s in your mind.  Who’s to say that dreams and nightmares aren’t as real as the here and now?”

John Lennon

” … You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one …”

John Lennon

Some of the dreams I’ve had this last week or two sure have seemed real.  They’ve been quite bizarre, so I hope they’re not real.  They haven’t reached the nightmare stage, thank goodness, but I must be dealing with something in my unconscious to precipitate such strange people, actions, and images while I sleep.

I don’t know much about the dream life – though it is a field I want to study at some point when I’m feeling a little more courageous – and I rarely remember my dreams.  Even if I can’t remember specifics about them, bizarre or otherwise, I do carry with me a sense about them, a feeling of ‘I need to pay attention to this,’ or ‘I need to figure out why …’.  I know they’re telling me something.  They’re bringing up things I need to pay attention to.

My mother had a rich dream life.  She could remember most of her dreams almost like a flip book, those boxy little books of stop-action figures that moved across the pages in minute increments.  She was able to write them down and study them, and sometimes she even crafted stories or poems about them.

I so wish I could do that!  But then I believe in fairies – or faeries – and little people, or the possibility of them, and she didn’t.  We both believed in many myths, for there’s always at least a grain of truth in myths, but she didn’t believe in dragons and I do.  Kind of.  I have a strong symbolic connection to dragonflies.  They’re not the same, I know, but I do believe they are representative of the power and strength of dragons.  I believe there’s a freedom, an ease in and with life that speaks to me through dragon(flie)s.

Ultimately I believe in possibilities.  I believe in mysteries and symbols.  I believe in, and have experienced, what some call paranormal occurrences or mystical experiences.  There haven’t been all that many, but there have been enough over the years to assure me they are real, and some have found their way into my own stories and poems.

So maybe part of my dream life takes place while I’m awake.  When I think of all the possibilities, all the mysteries that can’t be answered or explained but that are waiting to be explored, the world opens up for me.

What if there were actually nothing to disprove?  Can you imagine that?  Surely I’m not the only one …

One thought on “The Prompter Room

  1. Omg, you are so Not the only one! I was born with second sight, and have been privileged to ‘see’ the ‘paranormal’ all my life. I’ve seen in daylight, lucid dreams, dreams at night; been buzzed into the heart of the time-space continuum (just to know the truth of it?), seen stuff with my husband, my daughters, ‘stuff’ that others don’t normally have access to, for one reason or another. The key is nonattachment (do I hear an echo somewhere?) and an openness that has been difficult to live with at times, but I’m glad I’m me. Keep that magic flowing, Genie! It’s out there. Just on the other side of what the collective has agreed is ‘real.’ Or as Bastian says in The Neverending Story, ‘beyond the boundaries of Fantasia.’ If you can think it, dream it, imagine it – It exists. Aloha, dear one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

