The Prompter Room

For Saturday, March 26, 2016:

 

“It’s a terrible thing, I think, in life to wait until you’re ready.  I have the feeling now that actually no one is ever ready to do anything.  There is almost no such thing as ready.  There is only now.  And you may as well do it now.  Generally speaking, now is as good a time as any.”

Hugh Laurie

The dust bunnies growing and multiplying under the chairs and the bookcases must be so glad I don’t take this advice when it comes to them.  I look at all the fuzzies and tell myself, ‘Nope, gotta write’ or ‘gotta edit or revise’ instead.

I used to do the housework first.  The house was clean(ish), but little if any writing got done.  While I do have bursts of energy on rare occasions and play Mrs. Clean, most of the time now I do housework in spurts, usually while I’m trying to think through a story arc transition or mulling over a character’s development and next steps.  Luckily, this house is a lot smaller than others I’ve lived in, so even the little bits of cleaning I do at a time make at least a little difference.  And it makes a difference in my writing.  For one thing, I get some done.

My advice, then, is to follow Hugh Laurie’s advice: do it now.  Write that story, go find that rhyming dictionary so you can finish crafting your poem, start working on the quilt, prepare your canvas, go on and apply to school or sign up for that course you’ve wanted to take.  Now.  You’re ready and you can do it.

The housework can wait.  Besides, it’ll just need doing again tomorrow.  In that time you can get 500 – 1000 words into your story, and that’s a good start.  You’ll finish the application and maybe the painting, the quilt might be ready to bind by then.  You can read through the rhyming dictionary when you rest.

Trust me: those dust bunnies aren’t going anywhere.

One thought on “The Prompter Room

Leave a Reply

