The Prompter Room

For Monday, March 28, 2016:

 

“I will write my way into another life.”

Ann Patchett

I spent most of yesterday on the final (I hope) revisions of my soon-to-be novella, and by the end of the day I was exhausted.  Even though I had been in my chair the entire time (with obvious breaks), I felt like I had raked the whole yard or painted several big rooms.

About mid-afternoon, when I was unbelievably sleepy, I asked myself why I was so tired.  A few minutes later came the insight that I had undergone some time travel.  I traveled a little northward to the town of the story and visited back and forth among the characters, and then back again.  As a real-life introvert, I usually get tired if I do a lot of talking, or if I’m in a situation where a lot of talk is going on around me, and yesterday I did both.  No wonder I was spent, and I am today still.

But oh, I had fun!  It was like going home or to a favorite vacation spot.  I was fully immersed in this fictional place and her people.  Though I corrected typos, changed words and added others as I read, I felt as if I was really there and everything and everyone was real.  It didn’t feel like work, it felt like a visit.  A long, tiring one, but a visit nonetheless.  It felt sociable.

I hope this is a good sign that the book is ready and that it’s halfway good.  If I’m this tired, I think I must have done some decent work to fulfill William Zinsser’s adage that ‘Hard writing makes for easy reading …’.

At any rate, I’ve enjoyed working on this little book – it’s taken me to a new place, to new friends in a life that’s new for some of them and for me.  I can’t wait to get back to work on the first draft of the sequel so I can meet up with them again, to see what they have in store for us next.

2 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

Leave a Reply

