The Prompter Room

For Saturday, April 2, 2016:

 

“Without the playing of fantasy no creative work has ever yet come to birth.  The debt we owe to the play of imagination is incalculable.”

Carl Jung

I am so excited!  I just received the manuscript of a fantasy novel that is the second of a planned trilogy, and if it’s half as good as the first one I edited, this one’s going to be another winner.

The author is a young man who is a stunning writer.  As good as his writing is, his imagination is even better, and I cannot wait to start reading through the manuscript so I can enter into the realm of his creative visualizations once again.  One of the things that makes his work so good is that he’s a master of the ‘willing suspension of disbelief’ facet so necessary in fantasy fiction.  He has honed his skill at guiding the reader into and through his characters’ lives and actions in such a way – much of it through dialogue – that we have no trouble believing their world is as real as ours.

I wish I could give more specifics – examples of good character development, for instance – and I wish, too, I could copy small portions here, but I can’t.  Let me say this, though: even though our genres are different, his work is so inspiring, I hope my writing rises to his level when I grow up.  This is one young man to watch, and I will be sure to share more details as soon as I can.

One thought on “The Prompter Room

Leave a Reply

