The Prompter Room

For Friday, April 8, 2016:

 

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.”

Ray Bradbury

Reality isn’t destroying me, but it is certainly a distraction as I try to write.  So I want to ask your help, please.

My reality is that I need at least a semblance of quiet and little activity to write at my best.  But the constant TV and other household noises and busyness make that difficult, especially after a period of days or weeks that have been comparatively serene.  It always takes me a while to readjust.  I could go to my room, and do sometimes, but the house is so small and the walls so thin that I can still hear everything.  On top of that, nothing blocks out the neighborhood noises.  Even earplugs or earphones don’t help.

If I had my ‘druthers, I’d have a little hermitage I could go to when I write, where the only sounds I could hear would be birdsong, but that’s not possible.  I recently found, though – and just now reblogged – a new resource I hope will help all of us.  I’ve not yet explored it thoroughly, but I look forward to the possibilities.  Do check out Contemplative Writer’s blog for more.  There’s also a Facebook page.

In the meantime, I hope you all can help me with some suggestions of things you’ve tried if you have the same trouble I do.  I’m almost ready to start writing my new novel, and I need all the help I can get to move past, through, and over all these distractions.

Thanks much in advance, and bless you!

8 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

  1. I use earphones listening to new age music. The main library, which is huge had an area that is a quiet zone. You can take your lap top and plug it up and work in a soundproof room. The only sound is from other people working. You know rattling papers, closing their laptops or packing up. When my kids were young I use to sit up until 3 in the morning and get up at 7am to be at work at 9am. I use to live off coke-a-cola.

    Like

  2. Wow, I’m so lucky. I live with only birdsong and distant sounds of activity. Chris uses headphones when he listens to his stuff – his (longtime) idea, not mine – to preserve the peace and spirit of our home. Same when he plays his electric guitar – no amp, at least when others are around – just an app that plugs him into a headphone experience. We haven’t had a tv for almost 11 years, and that’s mutual. I don’t mean to be priggish here, but maybe others could make some concessions once in awhile? Drowning out noise with noise is kind of like putting a towel over one’s head to block out city lights in order to glimse the night sky. At least to me. Aloha, Genie! And may you discover the sacred peace you seek! ❤

    Like

    1. I agree with you 100% about the towel/city lights/night sky. There are, though, some attempts for concession that can’t be pushed anymore … shall we say.

      I thought of you, and remembered my short two weeks in Maui 16 years ago, as I wrote this. And my too-short time in the mountains here. That’s when I rely on memory as best I can. There are moments, and occasional days, when peace and beautiful birdsong are still present, and I treasure those blissful times. Maybe that’s my lesson of Zen, eh?

      Thanks, my friend! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Genie, sorry about your concession ‘issues.’ We all make them, and we all have unique situations. And yes, lessons in Zen for us all. I am grateful every single day, as is Chris, for our quiet life together. I don’t Ever take it for granted, nor does he! Many blessings, dear heart!

        Like

Leave a Reply

