The Prompter Room

For Sunday, April 10, 2016:

 

“Sometimes it’s not the people who change, it’s the mask that falls off.”

Unattributed meme on Facebook

“What if you looked in the mirror and saw your character instead of your face?”

Sue Fitzmaurice

Thank goodness for beta readers!  One of my three readers came back yesterday with some valuable feedback on the manuscript of my second novel.  Yeah, the one I thought I had finished.

This reader wants to see a particular character developed a little bit more.  He’s okay as-is, she said, and doesn’t need much work.  She thinks, though, the book and the character will be better if he exhibits more of a struggle (my word, not the reader’s) as he looks in his own mirror.

As much as I hoped I was through, my reader is right.  I know her critique is correct because I’m not disappointed or frustrated – I think I must have known all along – and part of me is looking forward to working on and with this character some more before I get back to the sequel.  In fact, I started in my head almost immediately, already have an idea or two, and have been in that fictional world ever since.

So, yeah … it’s back to the drawing board.  Or the corkboard of ideas and then the mirror, at least for a little while.  I need to see if I can see under that mask a little better.

2 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

Leave a Reply

