The Prompter Room

For Thursday, April 14, 2016:

 

“Tomorrow may be hell, but today was a good writing day, and on the good writing days nothing else matters.”

Neil Gaiman

Yesterday was a damn fine writing day.  In fact, I think it deserves a star of some kind, like those I received as a child when my piano lessons went well.  I think maybe I’ll start drawing my own little stars in my date book-calendar to indicate the good writing days …

I don’t know about you, but for me those days are usually followed by a fallow day or two, when words are hard to come by.  That’s all right, though.  I’m used to it, and I know another good day will come along.  In the meantime, I’ll keep on with my goal of at least 500 words a day so I stay in practice.  If I’m not there for 500, I won’t be there and ready for more when the words are waiting for me.

There is something about a good writing day.  There’s a special kind of lightheartedness as the creative spirit of the muse lifts you like a balloon or a bubble and you just float along on an inner smile.  I’m not a dancer, but I feel like I could dance a little jig when I finish for the day.

So I’ll carry forward the happy memory of yesterday’s accomplishment into today and tomorrow, and I’ll be satisfied with however many words appear.  Every new word – starred writing day or not – makes a good day in my book.  I hope your day of creative endeavors goes well and you can find that inner smile on which to ride!

3 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

  1. Yes, I’ve long ago learned to flow with the muse. Also not to force anything in life. If creation is looking for an outlet, I try and rally to that moment. Otherwise, there are many other tasks to busy myself with!

    Like

Leave a Reply

