The Prompter Room

For Sunday, April 17, 2016:

 

“It must be a great disappointment/to God if we are not dazzled at least ten/times a day.”

Mary Oliver – ‘Good Morning,’ BLUE HERON (2014)

Denizens of the North Country know to take advantage of nice days when they come along.  Today is one of those times.  Though our winter was milder than usual – thank goodness – it was still winter.  It was still cold, the ground was hard, and I stayed inside.

Today, though, the sky is a vibrant blue, and the sun is warm and bright.  Already the birds have been singing and calling, the neighborhood cats have frolicked through the yards chasing leaves and each other, a small white moth fluttered by.  Even the two resident dogs want to be outside as much as possible, just soaking it all in.

So I’m going to open windows and doors onto this dazzling day, take a sabbath rest from words to putz and putter out in the yard, and air out the house and me, for spring has reached the North Country.  I will touch the yielding earth, greet the return of green shoots, prepare some seed beds, maybe move some mulch around, join the dogs on the porch and follow their example.

This is such a fertile time, I fully expect some new words will burst forth from the seeds of this rest.  In the meantime, I hope your day is just as dazzling, wherever you are.

3 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

  1. Funny, this is the first stanza of what I began work on today, still in process:

    What if nature existed simply to be noticed;
    if our only job in life were to recognize
    the fundamental glory of Creation,
    discover our place, either town or forest,
    relax, enjoy, and flow with the current?

    I just find it strange how many times I check in with friends who are writing or thinking about the same sorts of things at the same time!

    I think in many ways my senses were sharper – well, they were DIFFERENTLY sharp in New England. The transitions of seasons were so pronounced, and I remember days such as you are experiencing and the attendant feelings they elicited. Elation! Exultation!

    And now, I will have to get hold of that MO book. I love the title!
    Love to you, Genie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

