The Prompter Room

For Friday, May 6, 2016:

 

“There is something delicious about writing the first words of a story.  You never quite know where they’ll take you.”

Beatrix Potter

Rather like the first words of a poem, the first sentence of a blog … Where am I going with this?  Where can I go?  I think one of the first things we writers learn is that it’s not ‘I,’ it’s the words.  They decide the direction.

And the characters, too, of course.  And ‘my’ characters are talking to me again – kind of.  They’re all assembling anyway, even in my dreams last night.  Which means it’s that time.  The first book is done (and almost ready for release!).  Two clients’ book manuscripts are edited.  Now it’s time to go back to the first words of the second novel in the series and see where I’m supposed to go with them.

I’m going to take the weekend off from here, then, and try to get back into their story and stories, to try to get out of my own editor’s head so I can immerse myself in the characters’ words again.  Who knows, maybe there will be a feast put on by all the assembled.  At the least I know there should be a delicious tidbit or two since one of the characters owns a diner.

So it’s on to Book Two of the Arlington Town series (you saw it here first, folks).  Hope everyone has a good, blessed, and productive weekend.  Paraphrasing Anne LaMott, may you and your words be surrounded with and by traveling mercies!

Leave a Reply

