The Prompter Room

For Tuesday, May 11, 2016:

 

“I wrote my first novel because I wanted to read it.”

Toni Morrison

“Write a page a day.  Only 300 words.  And in a year you have written a novel.”

Stephen King

Or a memoir.  Or a collection of poems or essays.  I did the math – well, the calculator did – and 300 x 365 = 109,500 words.  That’s definitely a book.

Many of us who blog write at least 300 words a day, so we know we can produce that amount.  Add in our emails, Facebook posts and comments, and tweets (if we do those), and it’s likely we’ve already surpassed those 300 words.  According to WordPress’s convenient little word count down in the corner – thank you, WP 🙂 – I’ve already reached 121 words up to here.  So it’s doable.

Yes, blog posts, Facebook, and emails are different, and at least the latter two are far easier than writing a book of any genre, but the words are there.  Usually the time is there, too.  Since I started my blog here a year ago – last week was the first anniversary of magiclampedits! – for instance, I’ve reduced my time and words on FB so I can write this blog and work on my books.

Even when I’m working on the blog, it’s not always at one sitting.  Usually I get up from the chair a few times – to let the dogs out, get some tea, turn down the TV, retrieve a dog toy from the water bowl or from under the couch, answer the phone, sometimes even to think and ponder – but those 300-500 words get done.

When I get distracted from or discouraged with my new novel-in-progress, I remember this.  Because I want to read it.  Once I reach the period in this sentence, I’ll have 290 words.  Almost there … and if I can do it, you can, too!

2 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

Leave a Reply

