The Prompter Room

For Friday, November 25, 2016:

 

Creative people, as I see them, are distinguished by the fact that they can live with anxiety, even though a high price may be paid in terms of insecurity, sensitivity, and defenselessness for the gift of the ‘divine madness,’ to borrow the term used by the classical Greeks.  They do not run away from non-being, but by encountering and wrestling with it, force it to produce being.  They knock on silence for an answering music; they pursue meaninglessness until they can force it to mean.

Rollo May, THE COURAGE TO CREATE

Note: This book is one of my creative ‘bibles,’ and I recommend it for anyone who has even just one creative bone in your body.  My own copy is so dog-eared, densely underlined, and full of margin notes, it’s probably time to get a new one (so I can at least add new notes), so I know how important this book is for the creative journey.  It is a true treasure.

2 thoughts on “The Prompter Room

  1. I just turned to facebook to distract me from the prompt I’m working on: “Write about your dreams for the future and your hopes for your children.” It horrifies me to think of the future. This prompt is exactly what I need. I must continue to stare at that blank page and face the anxiety. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

